Not the first email of this type I received: My previous post
I received this Phishing scheme on/around Aug 21 2008. Apparently the Credit Card that I DON'T have is in danger of being canceled!
Dear CitiBank client,
This is your official notification that the service(s) listed below
will be deactivated and deleted if not renewed immediately.
Previous
Notifications have been sent to the Billing Contact assigned to this account.
As the Primary Contact, you must renew the service(s) listed below.
SERVICE: CITI BANK CREDIT CARD
Expiration: NOV 8st 2008
What you need to do:
It's easy to renew your Online Banking Services by click on the link bellow :
http://www.citicards.com/securedServers/us/HOME
- Go to Account Login
- Update/Verify Your Information
Sincerely,
Citi Bank Online Service.
All trademarks, service marks and trade names referenced in this material are the property of their respective owners.
Citi and Citi Arc Design are registered service marks of Citigroup Inc. and are used by First Data under license.
The link looks like it will take you to Citibank at
http://www.citicards.com/securedServers/us/HOME
but in reality it takes you to
http://conturigramada.Kwik.To/ .
A Fake site in Tonga. And if you want to know Where In The World Is That ? - Try this link - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tonga.
How convincing is this site - The URL or Web Address should be a Dead give-away that it is not a CitiBank link. These people don't even try to desguise the name.
Here are pictures of the Fake site compared to the Original.

Almost exact Clones.
Notice any differences?
(PLEASE NOTE: This is how the Opera browser displays a secured connection - it may be slightly different depending on your browser choice. I believe Firefox will display the entire Web address line as Yellow with a lock symbol at the end)
From the Canadian BBB -
www.ccbbb.ca/alerts_nigerian.cfm
From the RCMP -
www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/qc/faq/nigeria_e.htm
Basically, this type of letter will tell you someone died, they had lots of money, and unscrupulous officials where going to cease it. They want you to pretend to be related to inherit the money to turn over to them but keeping a portion for yourself as a fee.
They probably wouldn't mention upfront but eventually they would request money for lawyers, transfer fees, etc. or worse, your Bank account info.
Just the fact that they are asking you to pretend to be relatives of the deceased to inherit their money, that is a crime in itself.
There are many variations of this letter. I received a few in the past, here's the latest one I received:
| Subject: My Dear!!. |
| From: Sarah Clement |
| Date: Tue, 26 Aug 2008 02:30:40 -0700 (PDT) |
| To: sarahclement1a@yahoo.com.ph |