[HOME] 5:04 PM July 2, 2010

Facebook - Hacker/Spammers - Closed Account - Fake Emails

Your account has been temporarily suspended

Suspicious activity has been detected on your Facebook account and it has been temporarily suspended as a security precaution. It is likely that your account was compromised as a result of entering your password on a website designed to look like Facebook. This type of attack is known as phishing.

Spent a couple of days trying to help a person get back their Facebook account. She kept being told that the account was locked because of security issues. There was an option to reactivate the account, an email was supposed to be sent from Facebook but it never came through. Tried different browsers, dozens of times over....Nothing.

A search online indicated that a lot of people had the same problem. But No solution because it seems to be a Facebook problem. My only option was to create a new account, but, same problem....NO Confirmation Email Link. Decided to wait a day or two to see if the email would arrive.

IT DID NOT!! The next day, I created yet another account and it went through without a hitch. The two problems with creating new accounts is that; you lose what you have set up on Facebook and you have to use/create a new email because you cannot use the one you had previously.

I have a Facebook account that I use about once every blue moon.

Facebook hacking/spamming is on the rise. And why not, with millions of users and so much personal data being uploaded, it's a hackers/spammers paradise. Facebook is making a few bucks of this to.

If hackers/spammers cannot get you on your account they send out fake emails. Never click on the links. The following are two I received so far.

These are examples of fake Facebook emails by Hackers/Spammers. If you receive any like these, Ignor them. They could lead to Virus/Malware loaded web sites. The first one actually goes to: http://blaztekwin.wireznet.com/entertainer.html


Subject: Facebook Service sent you a message on Facebook...
From: Facebook Service <notification+srvhielocbll@facebookmail.com>
Date: Sat, 26 Jun 2010 19:50:22 -0600
To: <terryhollett2003@yahoo.ca>

Facebook
facebook
Facebook sent you a message.
Facebook
Subject: Facebook information
To read this message, follow the link below:
http://www.facebook.com/n/?inbox/readmessage.php&t=178237710649&mid=b2ca7dd5e3a1f6bff8e3a95d5cf4b16e&n_m=facebook message
This message was intended for you. If you do not wish to receive this type of email from Facebook in the future, please click here to unsubscribe. Facebook's offices are located at 1601 S. California Ave., Palo Alto, CA 94304.

Subject: Facebook Service sent you a message on Facebook...
From: Facebook Service <notification+srvhielocbll@facebookmail.com>
Date: Sat, 26 Jun 2010 19:54:24 -0600
To: <terryhollett2003@yahoo.ca>

Facebook
facebook
Facebook sent you a message.
Facebook
Subject: Facebook information
To read this message, follow the link below:
http://www.facebook.com/n/?inbox/readmessage.php&t=1142606097952&mid=415ac05284ac6d461b9fdee1c15d3845&n_m=facebook notify
This message was intended for you. If you do not wish to receive this type of email from Facebook in the future, please click here to unsubscribe. Facebook's offices are located at 1601 S. California Ave., Palo Alto, CA 94304.

The second one goes to: http://tymhosting.com/moments.html. Trying to go to any of these links in Opera my browser of choice, I get the following warning:

I disabled the links in the above emails so you wouldn't infect your system accidentally. The only links active actually do take you to Facebook.